Sarah McLachlan concert, Edinburgh Usher Hall, 18 Oct 2004

Sarah McLachlan is amazing live. Her voice is steady, strong, and full of emotion. She sent shivers up my spine with damn near every song.

The show was tight and well-rehearsed. On the one hand, this left little room for spontaneity, on the other hand it was polished to perfection, and made a beautiful showcase for Sarah’s songs. Where we were sitting (middle of the front row of the second balcony–great view), the sound was a little hollow, and the drums were very prominent in the mix, but that hardly distracted from a wonderful gig.

Set list:

  1. Fallen (Afterglow)
  2. World on Fire (Afterglow)
  3. Adia (Surfacing)
  4. Hold On (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)
  5. Perfect Girl (Afterglow)
  6. Drifting (Afterglow)
  7. Push (Afterglow)
  8. Answer (Afterglow)
  9. Wait (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)
  10. Witness (Surfacing)
  11. Fear (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)
  12. Train Wreck (Afterglow)
  13. Building A Mystery (Surfacing)
  14. Sweet Surrender (Surfacing)
  15. Possession (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)


  1. Ice Cream (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)
  2. Silence (from the single with Delirium)
  3. Stupid (Afterglow)
  4. Fumbling Towards Ecstasy (Fumbling Towards Ecstasy)
  5. Angel (Surfacing)